I have successfully transitioned the robot platform over to using the BrickPi in combination with LEGO Mindstorms EV3! 🎉 Actually, I did it quite some time ago and just haven’t got around to blogging about it. But it’s finished!

The new design does not feature suspension, however, as that just proved too difficult to implement well. Besides, it wasn’t really necessary, since the chunky air-filled wheels provide reasonable cushioning anyway. I have also created tread and claw attachments that can be swapped in for the back, chunky wheels and front, still chunky rack-and-pinion steering system, allowing for greater maneuverability in Up the Garden Path1 and the ability to grab objects in Tidy Up the Toys2.

I’ll write more about the approaches to the various challenges in the upcoming weeks as I finalise their designs. There’s only couple of months until the challenges are due, so I better get cracking!


  1. Those turns are pretty tight. ↩︎

  2. Pretty important! ↩︎